Home / Halloween Articles / Halloween Fun that is Safely Gluten-Free

Halloween Fun that is Safely Gluten-Free

Published by Cayla Brokaw

Celiac disease can still enjoy the holiday fun. Since ingredients can change frequently, be sure to call each company’s customer service department to get updated lists of gluten-free products.

Nestle

Nestle claims that all of the company’s Wonka® candies are free of gluten, with the exception of Wonka® Oompas® and the Wonka® Bar. If you’re hosting a Halloween party, visit Wonka.com for interactive games and coloring pages.

An article by medical editor Nancy Lapid lists other Nestle candies that were known to be free of gluten as of September 2016:

  • Baby Ruth®
  • Nips® (Regular and Sugar Free)
  • Bit-O-Honey®
  • Treasures® (including Treasures Bars)
  • Butterfinger® (excluding Butterfinger Crisp and Butterfinger Stixx)
  • Spree®
  • Oh Henry!®
  • Raisinets®
  • Sno-Caps®
  • Goobers®

Jelly Belly

Jelly Belly jelly beans, popular for their array of realistic flavors, like buttery popcorn and root beer, are gluten-free. According to Lapid’s article, which cites an answer listed on the Jelly Belly website’s Frequently Asked Questions page, “Jelly Belly jelly beans and Jelly Belly Confections Pectin, Mellocreme and Gelatin candies are gluten-free and considered safe for the celiac-sprue patient to consume.”

Fannie May Chocolates

Though Fannie May products are not typically handed out on Halloween, people may choose to hand out Fannie May chocolates to older trick-or-treaters. They may also be popular snacks at a Halloween party. The Fannie May website offers the following list of gluten-free candies:

  • All candy bars
  • English Toffee
  • All solid chocolate novelties
  • Hostess Mints
  • Apricot Bon Bons
  • Apricot Cream
  • Assorted Nuts
  • Cashews
  • Chocolate & Pastel Meltaways
  • Chocolate Toffee
  • Chocolate Wafers
  • Citrus Peel
  • Dark Filbert Clusters
  • Irish Toffee
  • Ivory & Chocolate Bark
  • Milk & Dark Almond Clusters
  • Milk & Dark Walnut Clusters
  • Milk Peanut Butter Crunch Bar
  • Pastel Toffee
  • Pastel Wafers
  • Peanut Clusters

Just Born Candy Company

Mike and Ike® and Hot Tamales® Candies, both Just Born products that are popular Halloween handouts, are free of gluten, according to Lapid’s article.

Necco

Necco Wafers and the company’s Halloween Talking Pumpkins are both gluten-free candies.

Sources:

“FAQs.” Nestle.com

Nancy Lapid, “Gluten-Free Candies, as of September 2016.” About.com.

“Products Not Containing Gluten.” FannieMay.com

“Frequently Asked Questions.” Necco.com

Check Also

Halloween Themed Events

Halloween Themed Events Around the UK

Halloween generally coincides with the school half term break and it can be a struggle ...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *